Department of Physical Therapy MSc.PT Research Day and Awards Ceremony

Wednesday July 25, 2018

Students and Faculty admiring PostersWe had another successful MSc.PT Research Day at the University of Toronto. Once again our students presented informative and engaging posters. The keynote address presented by Dr. Cathy Evans, traced the development of our profession and research achievements within the University of Toronto. Our Breathe in Life Poster Award this year went to two outstanding presentations. First place was Susan Bowman for her poster entitled, “ I’m not the only one: parents’ perceptions of a multi-disciplinary group therapy program for children with physical disabilities under two years” with Cathy Evans as advisor.  Second place went to Erica Zurawski, Kirsten Behm, Charlotte Dunlop and James Koo for their poster, “Inter-rater reliability for the Modified Ashworth Scale with standardized movement velocities: a pilot study” with Chris Boulias, Shannon Reid and Chetan Phadke as advisors.

On behalf of the research co-ordinators for the MSc.PT, I would like to thank our physical therapy colleagues for their support of the research curriculum.  

For the third consecutive year, Research Day was held in conjunction with the Department of Physical Therapy Recognition awards.  The awards ceremony recognizes individuals that contribute to teaching within 500 University and at our many clinical sites for excellence in teaching and clinical education.  We would like to congratulate our 148 individual award recipients and 8 team award recipients. Additionally, we awarded 4 individuals with Exceptional Achievement Awards for their long-standing commitment and dedication to the advancement of Physical Therapy. This year’s award recipients were:

  • Stephanie Lurch for Education
  • Charlotte Anderson for Practitioner
  • Denise Scott for Professional Development
  • Kristen Musselman for Research

On behalf of the Recognition Awards Committee, the Department of Physical Therapy (MScPT and OIEPB), we would like to congratulate all award recipients for their valued contribution to teaching and clinical education. For a full list of award recipients and acknowledgments please see the Recognition Award Recipients Program 2018.