• Dr. Aileen Davis Receives 2016 Physical Therapy Alumni Achievement Award

    Posted on June 14, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    The Physical and Occupational Therapy Alumni Association at University of Toronto honours Dr. Davis for her commitment to scholarly activity, education, administration, and advocacy. Dr. Davis is a graduate of the Bachelor of Science in Physical Therapy at University of Toronto (1981). As a physiotherapist trained in clinical epidemiology, she is a renowned scientist, educator […]

  • Dr. Euson Yeung Wins the 2016 Canadian Physiotherapy Association Mentorship Award

    Posted on May 12, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    Department of Physical Therapy lecturer Dr. Euson Yeung is awarded the 2016 CPA Mentorship Award. The CPA Mentorship Award honours a member who has provided inspirational mentorship and acted as a role-model for professionalism and volunteerism. Dr. Yeung has been selected on account of his truly unique approach to teaching and mentorship. In his role as […]

  • Dr. Mathur Receives 2016 CRHP Distinction Award

    Posted on May 2, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    The Canadian Respiratory Health Professionals Leadership Council has honoured Dr. Sunita Mathur with their 2016 CRHP Distinction Award. The CRHP Distinction Award was created to recognize a respiratory healthcare professional who is actively engaged in the mentorship of other health-care professionals, and serves as a role model for professionalism and volunteerism. As Chair of the […]

  • Physical Therapy Students Receive Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award

    Posted on April 27, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    Graduating students Julie Ardron and Mujeeb Duranai have been recognized for their outstanding extra-curricular contributions to University of Toronto. The student experience at the University of Toronto is more than classes and books. It is life on campus, in the community and in the world at large. The Cressy Awards recognize graduating students for outstanding […]

  • Dr. Carol Heck Wins 2016 W.T. Aikins Award

    Posted on April 26, 2016 in Awards

    Dr. Heck has been honoured with the 2016 W.T. Aikins Award for Excellence in Individual Teaching Performance, Small Group category. The Faculty of Medicine at University of Toronto has recognized Dr. Heck for her high-quality teaching, passion for education, and ability to connect with her students. The 2016 W.T. Aikins Award is the most prestigious Faculty of […]

  • U of T Physical Therapy Takes the Ontario Physiotherapy Association Conference by Storm

    Posted on April 14, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    The annual OPA conference, InterACTION, was held at the Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel and Conference Centre in Toronto on April 8-9, 2016. The University of Toronto Department of Physical Therapy is proud to announce that our faculty and students were honoured with numerous awards, showcasing our dedication to research, innovation and leadership within the field. Dr. […]

  • Physical Therapy Students Honoured for Athletic Achievements

    Posted on April 5, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    On Friday, April 1, the University of Toronto Intramural Banquet recognized students for their contributions and commitment to intramural athletics. Out of 18 “Intramural T” awards, which are presented to graduating athletes, physical therapy students Mujeeb Duranai, Ryan Sellan, Sean Meagher, Courtney Lacey and James Chen were honoured for their leadership, athleticism, sportsmanship, participation, and […]

  • Dr. Kelly O’Brien Wins OPA Innovation and Advancement Award

    Posted on February 5, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    The Ontario Physiotherapy Association Awards Committee has selected Dr. Kelly O’Brien to receive this year’s Innovation and Advancement Award.  The OPA describes the criteria for this award as follows: The Innovation and Advancement Award recognizes a member who has been a trailblazer within physiotherapy and advances the science of the profession through innovating approaches in clinical practice, […]

  • Dr. Dina Brooks Wins Graduate Teaching Award

    Posted on January 28, 2016 in Awards, News & Events

    Dr. Dina Brooks is receiving a 2016 Faculty of Medicine Graduate Teaching Award for Sustained Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentorship.  This award celebrates Dr. Brooks’ longstanding commitment to graduate education and her significant contributions.  Nominations are made by current students or recent graduates. In his letter, Vice Dean, Graduate and Academic Affairs Allan Kaplan wrote “You […]

  • 2015 MScPT Award Recipients

    Posted on December 14, 2015 in Awards, News & Events, Students

    On November 11, 2015, 92 students in the Physical Therapy Class of 2015 convocated. The department held an awards ceremony at Michener Institute, followed by a reception at the Rehabilitation Sciences Building. The official graduation ceremony took place at Con Hall during the evening. Here is a full list of all award winners. Full descriptions of […]