Department of Physical Therapy Research Day & Awards Ceremony

Frosted cupakes with pink icing and sprinkles

Date: Wednesday July 20th, 2016

Location: Macleod Auditorium, Medical Sciences Building (MSB), Room 2158, University of Toronto


Poster Viewing
Time: 11:30am-12:30 pm (lunch provided)
Location: Stone Lobby of MSB

Awards Ceremony
Time: 12:30-1:30 pm
Location: Macleod Auditorium

Please RSVP by July 5th, 2016.


Study investigators pose in front of their award winning poster at Research Day, 2015

Are you ready? Exploring readiness to engage in exercise among people living with HIV and multi-morbidity in Toronto, Canada: a qualitative study won the 2015 Breath in Life Poster Prize at the Department of Physical Therapy Research Day in July 2015.

Pictured: Di Kesbian, Denine Ellis, Kyle Vader, Alya Simonik and Priscilla Leung with their award winning poster. 



About the Awards

Recognition Awards
Each year, the Department of Physical Therapy Recognition Awards acknowledge those individuals who have provided great learning environments, guidance, supervision, or have been inspirational to our students.  Recognition Award recipients can be faculty members, clinical instructors, small group facilitators, lab demonstrators, teaching assistants, or other educators.  Recipients can also be an entire site/team.

Exceptional Achievement Awards
Exceptional Achievement Award Recipients are individuals who have made significant long standing contributions to the Physical Therapy profession in one of four areas.  Recipients must hold a status appointment with the Department of Physical Therapy. The descriptions for each category are below.

  • Education Exceptional Achievement Award acknowledges an individual who demonstrates education excellence to physical therapy students in their teaching practice and educational innovation.  Previous award recipients include: Judi Hunter, Lynne Sinclair, Molly Verrier, Sharon-Switzer-McIntyre, Dina Brooks, Brenda Mori, Anne Agur, Euson Yeung, Cathy Evans, Anne Kuus, Robyn Davies, Kinny Quan Velanoski, Erin Miller, and Lindsay Beavers.
  • Physical Therapy Practitioner Exceptional Achievement Award: acknowledges a Physical Therapist who demonstrates expertise in a clinical content area, a best practice approach to delivering patient centred care, and participates in the development of their practice and the development of others in their clinical area. Previous award recipients include: Euson Yeung, Christine Carpenter, Krisztina Weinacht, Ros Crooks, Mary Sauriol, Helen Lee, Liz Inness, Vincent Lo, Karen Brunton, Pamela Hilliard, David Evans, Agnes Makowski, Angelo Papachristos, and Jennifer Agnew.
  • Professional Development Exceptional Achievement Award: acknowledges an individual who demonstrates ongoing contribution to the development and advancement of the Physical Therapy profession. Previous award recipients include: Maria Tassone, Viivi Riis, Jo-Anne Howe, Elaine Aimone, Chantal Graveline, Sheila Ritcey, Signe Holstein, Gillian Bone, Dorianne Sauve, Michel Landry, Kelly Brewer, Annette Marcuzzi, and Jeffrey Andrion.
  • Research Exceptional Achievement Award: acknowledges an individual who demonstrates excellence in the development and dissemination of new knowledge in a collaborative manner and fosters the development of new researchers.  Previous award recipients include: Ethne Nussbaum, Susan Jaglal, Bill McIlroy, Aileen Davis, Nancy Olmstead, Cheryl Cott, Dina Brooks, Virginia Wright, Barbara Gibson, Kelly O`Brien, Nancy Salbach, and Maria Huijbregts.